George Movie Star

Whilst picking up some gluten free goodies in Asda yesterday (it’s the only place I can find smoky bacon Pom Bear!) I spotted a beauty aisle and was drawn in. Even better, I spotted some nail varnish and they were only £1. They’re small bottles (5ml) but I rarely use a full bottle anyway, in fact I don’t think I ever have apart from base/top coat. I couldn’t decide what to go for but in the end decided on two different shades – Movie Star and Mysterious.

George Movie Star and Mysterious

George Movie Star and Mysterious

Movia Star really appealed to me – it’s a sort of grey/mauve but has hints of subtle purple/pink sheen – tricky to photograph but hopefully you can see what I mean below. It’s a really interesting colour combination.

Look at the sheen!

Look at the sheen!

I couldn’t wait to try it out on my nails. Sadly however, the colour didn’t seem to transfer well – I tried to capture the sheen in the photo but it is barely noticeable unless you look really closely and are under direct light.

George Movie Star

George Movie Star

It’s quite a thick polish but the brush is an uneven shape so I found it tricky to apply. Also, because it’s quick dry it starts to dry *very* quickly meaning you have to do the nail in one go otherwise it streaks (no time for topping up if you didn’t get enough to cover the nail with the first brushful, better to wait until the next coat). It did cover well, and I found two coats was plenty (in fact if it wasn’t for my untidy application just one thick coat may even have been enough). I used a gloss top coat, but it was fairly glossy without it.

George Movie Star with glossy top coat

George Movie Star with glossy top coat

It’s not a bad colour, I’m just disappointed the sheen from the bottle didn’t seem to transfer to the nail. It looks slightly darker on the nail than it does in the bottle; it dries to a sort of deep grey/purple shade. I’ll definitely use it again and for £1 it’s a bargain, but it just didn’t quite meet my expectations from the bottle.

Leave a Reply

